From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Kathi Nielson.JPG

I am Kathi Ricksecker Nielson. I spent my early childhood in Portland, Oregon. The summer after my first grade, my family moved to Northern California where I lived until I came to Utah to attend college. I’ve lived in Utah since 1967. I am married and we have five sons, four of whom are living. I’m the grandmother of “The Great 8 (plus one).”

In my middle and high school years I wanted to be either an attorney, an archeologist, or a private detective. During my early married years, I realized that researching my family history fulfilled all three of my career goals. I have worked in family history research since 1973 and have received two degrees in History.

I was blessed to be a stay-at-home-mom while raising our sons. This allowed me many hours to read and learn about my ancestors and how to locate and follow their “paper trails.” I enjoy hand embroidery, crocheting, reading, traveling, and attending genealogy conferences. I’m also pretty good at reading old handwriting. Once I labeled all of my kitchen supplies' containers in old script. No one could read them except me.

I am a convert to The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saint and have taught Primary, Gospel Doctrine, and Genealogy and Family History classes for many years. I was a Temple worker for nearly 30 years.

Professionally, I have worked in the Family History Library in the US/Canada Reference Unit, researched for private genealogy companies, and co-owned a small genealogy research company. While employed in the FHL I worked on the old Research Outlines, the precursor to the Research Wiki. I love family history!