How to Find Arizona Death Records

Revision as of 16:50, 10 January 2018 by Djheaven (talk | contribs) (Formatted Breadcrumbs)
(diff) ← Older revision | Latest revision (diff) | Newer revision → (diff)

Arizona became a territory of the United States 24 February 1863 and officially became the 48th State 14 February 1912. State law required the recording of death certificates in 1909. Arizona has death records dating back as early as 1844. Death records are available from 1844 through the present year.

Next Step: When did the death occur?

Death Records
Choose a time period:

Learn more about U.S. Death Records

Deaths from 1844 thru 50 years ago

Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS) houses death records from 1844 through the present year. Anyone can obtain a death certificate for a person deceased at least 50 years.

Try 1st:
1870-1966 - Arizona Deptartment of Health Services All counties for the time period are included.
Try 2nd:
1870-1951 - Index and images from the Department of Health Services.
Try 3rd:
1910-1911; 1933-1994 - Index to death and burial records from the state of Arizona. Also on ($), free at family history centers.
Social Security Death Index
Can't find your ancestor in the online index? Tips for searching online indexes
No death record for your ancestor? Other records with death information

Deaths from 50 years ago thru the present year

Arizona is a "closed record" state. This means vital records are not public record and the confidentiality of citizens is protected under Arizona law restrictions on the public's access of vital records. A person must be 18 years of age or older to obtain a certified copy of a death certificate.

The following persons can obtain a certified death certificate from the past 50 years. For additional explanations of these parties go to Arizona Department of Health Services

  • Spouse or Immediate Family Member
  • Attorney Representing an Estate
  • Attorney Representing Family Members
  • Attorney Representing Persons with a Legal Interest
  • Non-Attorney Legal Interest/Other Vital Interest
  • Third Party
  • Private Investigator
  • Genealogical Researcher

Obtain the Certificate

PART A: You know the exact date of death

To obtain a certified copy go to Arizona Department of Health Services

Deaths since 2008 are also available on the county level. For a list of county office locations, contact information and fees go to Arizona Department of Health Services application form.

PART B: You don't know the exact date of death

The State of Arizona requires you to provided the exact death date. A limited search is included in the certificate fee but not more than 10 years.

The following database my assist you in locating the exact death date for your ancestor:


If you do not want to order the death record, you can search other records containing death information.

Related Wiki Articles