From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Tery Schantzen Picture1.png

I live in Green Valley,Arizona, south of Tucson. Prior to that, my husband and I were both born and raised in California. I was a Junior High school teacher for 18 years, but glad to be done with all of that now. I miss the kids but not so much the parents and the administration. Junior high was fun, they are still a little afraid of you, but they get your jokes. Most of my church callings were in either Relief Society and Family History. Currently, I am both a Ward and Stake Temple and Family History Consultant. We have three children and 2 adopted grandbabies.

I guess the biggest challenge to my family tree now is that I took an Ancestry DNA test and had some unusual results. After talking to several Genetic Genealogists at Rootstech this year and some questions to my aunt, I discovered that I was adopted. Both my parents had passed so no one to explain to me except my Aunt. So, after 25+ years of working on my family tree, I am now working on a new family tree.

For hobbies and interests, I love anything with glass. I do mostly fused glass jewelry and home decor. Since the Pandemic, I have gotten into mosaics using glass. It has been TOOOO hot to turn on my kiln to do fused glass this summer. I've mosaiced a table top for my patio, 3 bowling balls and a butterfly as yard art. I have also learned to use epoxy/resin for both jewelry, coasters and countertops. Two bathrooms in our house now have new countertops using epoxy and am currently working on the Kitchen island. Nothing like buying a new home to then turning around and redo much of it. I like to read and do some gardening, but you have to like cactus!

This user is a graduate of the WIKI MTC
Wiki Support Team This user is a member of the
Wiki Support Team.

RootsTech2013-app-icon.png This user attended RootsTech 2020 in Salt Lake City.
United States flag.png This user lives in the United States Genealogy.
FamilySearch Indexing icon.png This user likes to index records.
NGS This user is a member of the National Genealogical Society.
Canada flag.png This user is of Canadian ancestry.
Flag of England.png This user is of English ancestry.
Flag of France.png This user is of French ancestry.
Flag of Germany.png This user is of German ancestry.
Flag of Sweden2.png This user is of Swedish ancestry.
DNA Double Helix.png
This user has
tested by 23andMe
DNA Double Helix.png
This user has
tested by FamilyTreeDNA
DNA Double Helix.png
This user has
tested by AncestryDNA