From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search


en This user is a native speaker of English
United States flag.png This user lives in the United States.
Flag of Germany.png This user is of German ancestry.
Flag of Sweden2.png This user is of Swedish ancestry.
Find A Grave This user is a contributor to the Find A Grave database of cemetery records.

I was born in Omaha, Nebraska, and I've lived here all my life. My mom worked as a keypunch operator and my dad was a police officer with the Omaha Police Department. I have a brother, Marc, and two sisters, Missy and Mel, and they are all younger than I am. My dad was an only child, and my mom had one sister, who died when she was 2 years old, so basically they were both only children. We had no aunts, uncles or cousins! Boring! We had a lot of second and third cousins, but only 2 of them lived in Omaha and we rarely saw them.

I've been married twice, but the second time I found the right man - we've been married for 28 years. I have 2 children, Meg is 34, married, and active in doing genealogy also. Matt is 32, married, a father of one, my granddaughter, Hailey, is the sunshine of my life. Steve (my husband) and I have also been involved in dog rescue and we have 2 dachshunds right now who keep me on a tight leash all day long! At one time, we had 7 dachshunds running around, but we've decided maybe that was a bit much and as we lost them, we didn't get any more! The ones we have now are 14, and 12.

I've done lots of jobs, from packing lasagna at a macaroni plant to being a secretary for the local police department for over 15 years, to being a medical transcriptionist. I had to quit working in 2009 and I'm on disability because of fibromyalgia and rheumatoid arthritis, but not working was boring, boring, boring. I started worknig on genealogy in about 2000, and at my last job I had a co-worker who was also interested in it, so we did a lot of cemetery walking and working on Find A Grave and our individual family trees.