From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
The Leakes
This user is a graduate of the WIKI MTC

Hello - My name is Teresa Leake and I look forward to working with the Wiki Team.

Once I read the tab “Wiki Missionary talents and interests”, I was fascinated at how much I have in common with many of you. I am detailed oriented, took an early interest in genealogy, love music of all kinds/play the piano, like to read (history, biography, church), have grown to love gardening as an adult (hated to get my hands dirty when I was young), LOVE the gospel since I am a convert of 37 years, family is central to our household, and at this point in my life I am very excited to give back and learn more about the Savior’s Atonement through service.

I am a Virginian and have lived in Richmond for almost 40 years. My husband, Wayne, and I have 4 children, 13 grandchildren and 3 great grandchildren. I come from a small family of 2 kids – my mom was the baby of 13 and she is still living at the young age of 95. My husband also comes from a small family of 2 kids but his grandmother was the second oldest of 21 children. That family became Latter-day Saints in the late 1800s in the Richmond area before any wards or stakes were established. He remembers his mom talking about going to her grandparents’ home where Sunday School was held every Sunday prior to the church renting a hall in the city where local members could attend. Wayne is a 4th generation member and his 13th great-grandmother was Pocahontas.

I am the only member of my extended family and from a very young age I would ask my aunts to tell me stories about the 13 children from my mother’s side. When it came time for these women to give up their homes (along with their pictures, Bibles, treasured documents) they asked, “Who wants this stuff?” Without hesitation I raised my hand. For more than 35 years, I have been holding onto locks of hair, original letters dated from the turn of the century, books from the end of the Civil War and much more.

I have a degree in Business Administration and have taken extra classes towards an MBA but decided the extra cost and time away from family wasn’t worth the additional plaque on the wall. My career has varied from working for the US Congress on Capitol Hill to running educational programs for a medical malpractice company. I have also managed a large staff of administrative assistants in the US and UK for a merger and acquisition firm, as well as owned and operated an office management business. On June 30 this year, after seven years at Capital One Bank, I finally retired - there I tested Federal regulations against existing bank controls and policies.

I have served in a number of church callings on ward and stake levels but my favorite was seminary teacher for an inner-city branch when my husband and I were called to serve outside our ward boundaries to help strengthen that area. What a choice experience … I’m sure I benefited much more than the students. I currently serve as the Ward Music Chair.

I have a passion for family history work and linking families together eternally. Since retiring at the end of June, I have worked in FamilySearch nearly everyday. There are so many loved ones and so little time. The main reason I am interested in a Wiki mission is because I know so little about the Wiki. I hope by the end of my mission, I will be armed with lots of great Wiki information that will help not only my family history work but others as well.

Personal contact information: // Cell # 804-514-3602