User:Cartogis

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Languages
nl This user is a native reader, writer, and speaker of Dutch
fy-5 This user is a professional reader and speaker of Western Frisian
en-5 This user is a professional reader, writer, and speaker of English
de-3 This user is an advanced reader, writer, and speaker of German
Familysearch
FamilySearch Indexing icon.png This user likes to index records.
Broom icon.png This user likes to cleanup the wiki.

Hi, my name is Hillie Plantinga. I'm living in the Netherlands and as far as I have researched until now 100% of Frisian origin (I haven't found the odd one out yet), where I was also born and raised. I am researching the lines of my father (PLANTINGA) and my mother (HIJLKEMA) since about 2008.

I have studied Surveying, with specialty Carthography at a College of Advanced Technology, where I graduated as an engineer (ing.) in 1985. After working for an engineering firm in the west of the Netherlands for 10 years I switched to a municipality in the east of the Netherlands. Here I work as a Specialist of Geographic Information Systems. Besides my work I have completed my Masters in Geographical Information Systems in 2013 (MSc.).

Because I'm working full time I haven't as much time for my genealogy hobby as I would. That's why at the moment my research is done mainly online. In recent years many archives and genealogical societies in the Netherlands, as well as Familysearch of course, have put their records online. I like to help out with information on research in the Netherlands. This makes it a lot easier to find more and more.

Feel free to aks for help on research in the Netherlands or transcription and translation questions (Dutch or Frisian) on my Talk Page.