Norwegian American

From FamilySearch Wiki
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Norwegian American
Norwegian American flags.PNG
Record Types
Norway Background
Local Research Resources

VELKOMMEN TIL DEN NORSK AMERIKANSKE SIDEN!

Welcome to the Norwegian-American page!

Through the FamilySearch Research Wiki's Norwegian-American pages you can learn how to find, use, and analyze Norwegian-American records of genealogical value. The content on these pages are variously targeted to beginner, intermediate, and expert researchers.

Norwegian- American Research Strategy[edit | edit source]

So the time has come to trace your Norwegian ancestry, and you are wondering where to start. Always start with what you know for sure, and start at home!

  1. What do you already know? Do you have older relatives still alive? If you do make sure you talk to them as soon as possible! Write down everything they tell you, no matter how insignificant it may seem to you. Pay special attention to any mentioning of people, names and places. Look for any family information in Bibles, hymn books, journals (if you are lucky enough to have them), obituaries or death notices, letters, postcards and photographs with names, dates, and places listed on them. There could be some truth to the oral traditions you have heard since childhood.
  2. Look for any information in as many US sources as possible. Search all the US Federal and state censuses, applications to naturalize and the citizenship certificate, any homestead application,old newspapers, Norwegian-American Lutheran church records, military records, pension records, etc. Were they members in any Norwegian fraternities? Have you looked in any county histories?
  3. Repositories for these records could be in your homes, homes of family members, local libraries, museums, or ethnic organizations.

Places that could be of tremendous help could be found in the following websites:

Norwegian-American Sources by State[edit | edit source]

Norwegian-American Associations (Bygdelags)[edit | edit source]

A bygdelag is an association with an interest in a specific geographical district in Norway. Contact the corresponding individual for the area of interest and they will check their files to see if they have information about your ancestor. See the list below. You can also check the Bygdelagenes Fellesraad’s genealogy pages for more information.

Lags and Lag Genealogists[edit | edit source]

Gudbrandsdals Lag Genealogist: Marilyn Sorensen: Rddlagen@usfamily.net

Hadeland Lag Genealogist: Dave Gunderson: Davgund@prtl.com

Hallinglag Genealogist: Jackie Marler: jkmarler@qwest.net

Landingslag Genealogist: Carol Olson: caolson@copper.net

Lappmark Lag Genealogist: Christopher Pesklo: Dinkytown@hotmail.com

Møre og Romsdal Genealogist: David Christ: genealogist@moreogromsdallag.org

Nordfjord Lag Genealogist: Robert O'Neil: Irviking@comcast.net

Nordfjord-Wisconsin Lag Genealogist: Arvalene Vedvik: phone # 608-734-3192

Nord Hedemark og Hedemarken Lag Genealogist: John Reindl: genealogy@nhohlag.org

Nord Hordland/Sunnhordland Genealogist: Barbra Lunsetter: wbluns@gvtel.com Iona Loken: Irloken@srt.com

Nordlandslag Genealogist: Jay W. Liedman: Genscan@tds.net

Numedalslågen Lag Genealogist: Richard Holter: dikarmen@paulbunyan.net

Opdalslag Genealogist: Evy Kuecker: Evykucker@frontier.net

Ringerike Drammen District Lag Genealogist: Phyllis Maxwell: mpmaxwell@wcta.net

Rogaland Lag Genealogist: David Cross: Genealogist@rogalandslag.org

Romerikslag Genealogist: William Naseth: Wnaseth@charter.net

Sigdalslag Genealogist: Garth Ulrich: gulrich@sasktel.net

Sognadal Genealogist: Gerald Sime: Grsime1931@msn.com

Solør Lag Genealogist: Elaine Hasleton: eehasleton@gmail.com

Sognefjord Genealogist: Judy Gates: phone # 608-452-3805

Sunnfjord Lag Genealogist: Tamra Foster: sunnfjordgen@comcast.net

Telelag Genealogist: Darrel Johnson: Dejohnso@wcta.net

Toten Lag Genealogist: Mildred Andorfer: genealogist@toten.org

Trønderlag Genealogist: Barry Dahl: Bs2000@juno.com

Valdres Samband Genealogist: Be Gunelson: begunl@charter.net

Vosselag Genealoist: Ruth Christ: Ruth-christ@uiowa.edu

Østfold 2-lag Genealogist: JoAnn Glass: Ostfoldlag@worldnet.att.net


Denmark

Flag of Denmark.png

Finland

Finland Flag.png

Iceland

Flag of Iceland.png

Norway

Flag of Norway.png

Sweden

Flag of Sweden2.png

Scandinavia

Scandinavian Flags.jpg